Three Sooke students awarded scholarships

Three Sooke students awarded scholarships

Ike Barber Transfer Scholarship program awarded annually to undergraduate students

Three Sooke residents are among 163 B.C. Students who received a record $815,000 this year from the Ike Barber Transfer Scholarship program.

The scholarships are awarded annually to undergraduate students who have completed at least one year at a public post-secondary institution in B.C. and are transferring to another institution to complete their studies.

Funds for the scholarships come from the returns on a $15 million endowment established by the province in 2006. To qualify for a transfer scholarship, students must demonstrate strong academic achievement and significant volunteer service to their school or community.

The Sooke winners include Taylor Calnan, Amy Hashemi Zenoz, and Monica Salt.

The Irving K. Barber BC Scholarship Society offers scholarships and awards to B.C. students attending public post-secondary institutions. The Society is named after entrepreneur and philanthropist Irving K Barber, who had a long history of supporting public post-secondary education in British Columbia before his death in 2012.

Since its founding in 2006, the Society has awarded over $14 million in scholarships and awards to thousands of BC students. The Society is administered by the Victoria Foundation.

Applications for 2018 Ike Barber Transfer Scholarships will be available on Dec. 5, 2017.

To find out more about the Society’s programs, call 1-844-478-4645 (toll free) or visit