SOOKE HISTORY: Sooke’s second council in 2003

SOOKE HISTORY: Sooke’s second council in 2003

There’s been so much change, sometimes it’s hard to know whether we’ve had more change in council or in senior staff.

Sooke’s municipal history appeared to get off to a great start in December 1999, with the election of Ed Macgregor as mayor. Not long after the Council’s first term was completed in November 2002, however, we suffered the loss of Mayor Macgregor who died suddenly in April 2003.

This photo shows how things stood in June 2003 after a byelection for two seats had taken place; the one contest for mayor, and one contest to fill the vacancy created when Coun. Janet Evans resigned to run for mayor.

Standing at left is Coun. George OBriain; retired from public service now, he remains a Sooke resident today. Next is Coun. Marcus Farmer; while he left politics after two terms, he is seen these days chatting with customers in his role as manager at Shoppers Drug Mart. Councillor John Farmer stands next to his son. Retired from a long career in pharmacy and merchandising, he still keeps his hand in the dispensary if called upon.

Coun. Tom Morino was once a Sooke resident, not only a practicing solicitor, but a business owner, with a restaurant in Evergreen Centre. We understand he continues a law practice with an office in the Western Communities. On the right is John Stephen, who won the councillor position in the byelection. Now passed on, John served this area for a number of years as a federal fisheries officer.

The two ladies in front of course, remain well-known today. Janet Evans was not only on the first council, but served as mayor from June 2003 to November 2011. She continues to be active in the community. Lorna Barry has had a long political career as well, in 1991/92 as regional director, and then two terms on Sooke council. Today Lorna’s life is quieter, especially enjoying visits from grandchildren.

The photo on the right shows Sooke’s first full-time CAO Tom Day. The staff has had many changes as well, and we have seen a continuing turnover in the CAO position. First, after council’s inauguration, was David Gauley, put in place by the province briefly to establish initial procedures. Tom Day was next, but left after Ed Macgregor’s passing.

CAOs that we have noted following in succession have been Peter Jmaeff, Evan Parliament, Gordon Howie and Teresa Sullivan. It should be interesting to watch how the next year unfolds at Municipal Hall.


Elida Peers is the historian of the Sooke Region Museum.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Traffic is backed up due to a crash on Highway 1. (Photo courtesy of Google Maps)
Traffic backs up on Highway 1 westbound in View Royal after crash

First responders are reportedly on the scene in View Royal

Rainbow trouts thrashing with life as they’re about to be transferred to the largest lake of their lives, even though it’s pretty small. These rainbows have a blue tinge because they matched the blue of their hatchery pen, but soon they’ll take on the green-browns of their new home at Lookout Lake. (Zoe Ducklow/News Staff)
VIDEO: Lookout Lake stocked with hatchery trout to delight of a seniors fishing club

The Cherish Trout Scouts made plans to come back fishing soon

A driver stopped by Saanich police following a road rage incident on April 15 was found to be impaired, in violation of a license restriction and in a damaged vehicle. They received a 90-day driving prohibition and a 30-day vehicle impound. (Saanich Police Traffic Safety Unit/Twitter)
UPDATED: Driver stopped for road rage incident on Pat Bay Highway fails breathalyzer test: police

Several witnesses reported driver to police, school officer intercepted

Sooke plans to begin construction of the $4.9-million Church Road corridor project this summer. (Kevin Laird - Sooke News Mirror)
Sooke hopes to start Church Road Corridor project this summer

Road upgrade includes a roundabout, sidewalks, bike lanes and boulevards

The site of the proposed rental housing development at 2197 Otter Point Rd. (District of Sooke)
District of Sooke approves development with 77 rental units

New parking lot for John Phillips Memorial Park included in project

A woman wears a protective face covering to help prevent the spread of COVID-19 as he walks past the emergency entrance of Vancouver General Hospital in Vancouver, B.C., Friday, April 9, 2021. COVID-19 cases have been on a steady increase in the province of British Columbia over the past week. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Top doctor warns B.C.’s daily cases could reach 3,000 as COVID hospitalizations surge

There are more than 400 people in hospital, with 125 of them in ICU

The father of Aaliyah Rosa planted a tree and laid a plaque in her memory in 2018. (Langley Advance Times files)
Final witness will extend Langley child murder trial into May or June

Lengthy trial began last autumn with COVID and other factors forcing it to take longer than expected

The corner of 96th Avenue and Glover Road in Fort Langley now has traffic signals, and new “touchless” signal activation buttons. (Matthew Claxton/Langley Advance Times)
Busy Fort Langley intersection gets ‘touchless’ crosswalk signals

The new traffic light started operation in April

A crossing guard stops traffic as students wearing face masks to curb the spread of COVID-19 arrive at Ecole Woodward Hill Elementary School, in Surrey, B.C., on Tuesday, February 23, 2021. A number of schools in the Fraser Health region, including Woodward Hill, have reported cases of the B.1.7.7 COVID-19 variant first detected in the U.K. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
COVID-infected students in Lower Mainland schools transmitting to 1 to 2 others: data

Eight to 13 per cent of COVID cases among students in the Lower Mainland were acquired in schools, B.C. says

The District of Sooke will continue to flower with Communities in Bloom. (Pixabay)
Sooke will bud but not bloom in provincial competition

Council scales back participation in Communities in Bloom

An armed officer walks outside Cerwydden Care on Cowichan Lake Road near Skinner Road Wednesday, April 14 around 5:30 p.m. (Kevin Rothbauer/Citizen)
Police standoff at Duncan apartment ends peacefully

Officers surround building as homeowner held in apartment for nearly four hours by adult son

Latest modelling by public health shows cases generated by COVID-19 infections into places where it can spread quickly. (B.C. Centre for Disease Control)
Industrial sites, pubs, restaurants driving COVID-19 spread in B.C.

Infection risk higher in offices, retail, warehouses, farms

Hwy. 4 was shut down in both directions for 10 hours on March 23 as a rock bluff was blasted as part of Kennedy Hill’s ongoing construction. Commuters can expect five more 10 hour closures on five consecutive Wednesdays beginning April 28. (Photo courtesy of Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure)
Five 10-hour Pacific Rim highway closures planned in the next 6 weeks

Closures needed for rock blasting as part of the Kennedy Hill Safety Improvement project.

Bulldogs forward Stephen Castagna flips the puck into the Clippers zone during a game on Oct. 24. (ELENA RARDON / ALBERNI VALLEY NEWS)
Island BCHL game postponed due to ‘potential positive’ COVID-19 test

Nanaimo Clippers team suspends activities, players isolating pending further test results

Most Read