Skip to content

Businesses honoured with awards

Sooke Region Chamber of Commerce holds annual gala night
Frederique Philip accepts the Lifetime Achievement Award from Michael Nyikes.

The ballroom at the Prestige Oceanfront Resort was full of people from Sooke’s business community for the  2013 Chamber Business Excellence Awards.

The April 5 event saw  deserving businesses and most importantly, the people behind the businesses, receive awards in different categories. Nine awards were chosen by a jury consisting of Ellen Lewers, Kevin Pearson and Steve Sorensen.

Sooke Region Chamber of Commerce president Michael Nyikes chose two awards, one for Recognition and one for Lifetime Achievement.

The President’s Lifetime Achievement Award went to the Sooke Harbour House. The award is presented to any long-standing business or individual which the current president feels has benefitted the Sooke region as a whole. When accepting the award Frederique Philip said, “I could cry.”

The President’s Award of Recognition went to Ken Stratford. That award was given to a business or individual who has made impactful contribution to advance the success of businesses and economic development.

In the major categories the winners were: Professional Service - Dr. Chris Bryant Inc.; Retail Excellence - Western Foods; Manufacturing Excellence - Tugwell Creek Honey Farm and Meadery; Dining Excellence - Point No Point Resort; Sustainability Leadership - Juan de Fuca Salmon Restoration Society; Development Excellence - Mariner’s Village. Not-For-Profit Organization - Sooke Martial Arts Association; New Business of the Year - TD Canada Trust; Business of the Year - Sooke 2 For 2 Pizza.

On accepting his award for Development Excellence Mike Barry said it has been awesome. “I know we’re gonna make it.” He also stated, “there is no place like this (Sooke) and I’ve been all over the world.”